OMRF names 11 state students as Fleming Scholars

OMRF has selected 11 Oklahoma high school and college students as Sir Alexander Fleming Scholars for 2012.

The students were selected following a competitive statewide application and interview process. Those chosen as Fleming scholars will spend 8 weeks working side-by-side with senior-level OMRF scientists. They will complete research projects on topics such as autoimmune disease, cancer and heart disease, and their work will culminate in scientific papers and seminar presentations to OMRF’s scientific staff.

“A summer spent in a laboratory trains students to think in new ways,” said OMRF Fleming Scholar Program coordinator Courtney Stevens. “They work hard, but they also get a close-up look at several possible careers in the sciences. For many, their summer at OMRF will be a game-changer.”

Since its creation in 1956, the Fleming Scholar Program has given more than 500 Oklahoma students the chance to explore careers in medical research and medicine. Two OMRF senior scientists, Judith James, M.D., Ph.D., and Rodger McEver, M.D., started their research careers as Fleming Scholars.

The 2012 Fleming Scholars, with their hometowns and current schools, are:

Alexis Chen, Shawnee, Oklahoma Baptist University
Christina Hansen, Edmond, Oklahoma City University
Mitchell LeFebvre, Lawton, Eisenhower High School
Jeremy Madison, Choctaw, Colorado Christian University
Michaela Metts, Durant, Durant High School
Reza Niazi, Oklahoma City, Southern Nazarene University
Vincent Peng, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics
Ty Pfeiffer, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics
Trey Polk, Oklahoma City, Southern Nazarene University
Aamina Shakir, Oklahoma City, University of Oklahoma
Jenny Spillers, Miami, Miami High School